Random

10/15/2017

Whoa, rising from the dead for a second to write something.

My period unexpectedly started yesterday. My poor underwear and I were not prepared. (The reason I’m sharing that with you is because it’s relevant to what this post is about.) Along with the blood, comes the emotions. Usually on a period I get sad. Like real sad. Like will cry at the drop of a hat sad. Everything makes me emotional. Just looking at my dogs’ faces could bring tears. I’m a total wreck. Right before I started this post I was laying on my bed sobbing, clutching my dog to my chest, which he did not particularly enjoy.

Today I have been cleaning my room. Washing my sheets, organizing my closet and desk, vacuuming will commence later (hopefully). And this whole time I’ve been cleaning and organizing, I’ve had Pandora playing on the TV in the living room. We live in a one story, ranch style home, and the living room is just a short hallway away, so I can hear the music quite clearly.

Music is one of those things that instantly makes me feel emotional. Even if I’ve never heard the song before, if its lyrics speak to me, I’m usually holding back tears (non-period times included). I don’t even remember what was playing, maybe a Taylor Swift song? Not sure, I just know it was slow and sad. I was standing in my room, imagining what it would be like to tell certain friends of mine that I was engaged (I’m not!). I was imagining skyping them because I didn’t want them to find out from a Facebook post. And just thinking of them transported me back two years ago, three years ago, being in Nacogdoches.

I said a farewell to Nac two years ago, when I was leaving, coming back home and preparing for a summer with Jonathan. But I don’t think I ever really left it, or my friends, behind.

I was in that town, at that school, for two years. Two of the very best years of my life. I made some of the most amazing friends, and had some of the greatest experiences of my life. I went to parties, I joined a sorority, I got my first job, and I came out to most of my friends, and myself, as bisexual. First time I’m typing that. Crazy. Hopefully it doesn’t bite me in the ass.

In particular, I was thinking about my roommate and her fiancé. That’s what got me all emotional. Cheyenne and Alex were my first friends in Nacogdoches. They were my best friends. And while things weren’t always happy and fun, they were always by my side.

They were there and ready to go when I wanted to take a late-night drive, they were there when I wanted to go shopping or just walk around somewhere. They took care of me, and I hope that I helped them as well. Those are two very special people to me and I couldn’t imagine my life without them. I was so lucky to get Cheyenne as a roommate. She is nerdy and funny and sweet. Alex is clever and opinionated, and made me open my eyes to different things. We called ourselves the “Terracotta Trio,” god knows why.

Anyway, they were the reason I started bawling like a baby. Missing them reminded me how much I miss Nacogdoches and everyone there. Those were some of the best years of my life and I would never trade them for anything.

Thank you Cheyenne and Alex, thank you Nacogdoches, Sigma Kappa Omega, and all my friends I made along the way, especially Shelia, Kitty, Landry, and Katie. I love you guys to the moon and back, times 1000!

Leave a Reply

